Zacharia Ria Ndungu Graduation thanksgiving testimony speech at ACK St Joseph’s Church Kabete 23rd September 2022.

1. I am Zacharia Ria Ndungu, a BSc graduate in Actuarial Science at the University of Nairobi in the 67th graduation ceremony held in Nairobi today, 23rd of September 2022.

2. First of all, I would like to thank God for giving me this opportunity to speak this evening.  “I will praise the name of God with a song; I will magnify him with thanksgiving.” Psalm 69:30.

3. Had it not been for God, I wouldn’t be here right now because He is the one who’s given me the strength and courage to press on both academically and spiritually through my school years, especially in times of discouragement and when not feeling well.

4. I sincerely thank ACK St Joseph’s church Kabete for walking with me. I have come to say thank you in church because I acknowledge God’s doing in my life. For also giving us a venue for this occasion, this is only a reflection of the journey the church has walked with me and the blessings I have derived from here.

5. I also thank the Ray of Hope Kenya for being with me and financing my education when I had all hopes lost of school back in form one, before Light Academy offered me a scholarship.

6. I have all the reasons to “Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name.” Psalm 100:4

7. The journey I had started from Alpha Kindergarten, to Kabete Vet Labs Pry School, before I got sponsorship for my class 8 studies at Creative Best Care Junior Academy where I did my KCPE. From here I went to Rungiri Secondary School where I did my best.

8.  My high school was memorable and I am really glad I have made it through the University of Nairobi. Light Academy secondary school is where I started dreaming with hope, and here I am continuing with the faith and hope, destined to pursue all opportunities for illustriousness.

9. This has been a long journey indeed. I started my university life in 2016, where I was set to pursue a Bachelor’s degree in Actuarial Science. I was excited, and it felt like a dream come true.

10. I had always longed to get to the University, and voila, here I was. My first year of college went well, I suppose. I was vibrant and with an impetus to study, and contribute indeed.

11. I also had an urge to study abroad. Perhaps in the US or one of the western countries. I even started my application process and got some schools in the process. The only thing that prevented me from flying was the high cost of attendance, coupled with limited or lack of funds from my end.

12. Honestly, I thought enrolling to the University of Nairobi was a placeholder, where I would transition to Economics or Mathematics.  Looking back, it was God’s will all along.

13. As an Equity leaders program scholar, I had been walked through the whole application process with a boot camp that was held at the Brookhouse School and the Sportview hotel beforehand.

14. I knew I would transition to a global university. I knew it was within reach. But it did not go out my way.

15. I also started experiencing challenges, as my savings were growing less and less. For me, the only way out was by getting a school, and a scholarship at that. Unfortunately, it did not work out.

16. I recall myself in tears after I got rejections and waitlists. I recall the hope I had cling on being dashed after my scholarship application was not successful, in addition to getting admissions to multiple schools. I was in shock. How could I get it so wrong?

17. But the biggest worry I had was on financing my second year of campus. My first year at the University went well, but all other aspects weren’t working. I was staying in the hostels, and I recall going home after my exams not knowing what’s next.

18. It was excruciating that I had spent so much investment and time on an endeavor that did not turn out well. Here, I learnt a lesson of patience and learning from failure, as it is the condiment that gives success its flavor.

19. When I got a scholarship to study Computer Science and engineering at the National Institute of Technology in Rourkela India, it was indeed a dream come true. So exhilarated I was!

20. At the University of Nairobi, I had my own challenges, and with no means assured of paying my next academic year school fees ,or upkeep, I did not think twice on unleashing this once in a lifetime opportunity.

21. I recall when the call came from the Indian High Commission in Kenya, that I had been successful in June 2018. I remember I had come home, while school was in session, awestruck not knowing what was next.

22. But on that chilly morning, I had a reason to be thankful. After another year of trying my luck at universities abroad, I had a reason to celebrate.

23. That year I had more schools accepting me, but with limited funding or being placed on the waitlist.  Just as I was about to give up, there was light at the end of the tunnel. The scholarship was fully funded, with visa and travel costs being taken care of.

24. So, I deferred my studies at the University of Nairobi and set out to start my journey in India. I had a reason to sing Psalm 95:1-4 “Oh come, let us sing to the Lord; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation! Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise! For the Lord is a great God, and a great King above all gods.”

25. It was a great experience and it started out well. I enjoyed my stay as I started my computer science and engineering studies.

26. Unfortunately, I fell Ill, after having a relapse of schizo-affective disorder. I was in a foreign land, and it felt a lot worse in the psychiatrist ward.

27. Luckily, the Indian Council of Cultural Relations, who had awarded me a scholarship through the Africa Scholarship Scheme , were kind and supportive in my journey to get better. By God’s grace, I felt better and have since fully recuperated.

28. Then, I decided to come back to Kenya, to recuperate fully, and resume my studies for the next academic year in India and they were kind enough to head to my request. Luckily or unfortunately, I was advised to resume my studies here, in Kenya, and I did so.

29. After experiencing life in another continent, with its rigour and approach, I was set to give my best. I resumed my studies in Actuarial Science. I also had an opportunity to have lot’s of you walk with me, and support me. This time it was different than when I left. With your help, and support it felt much better.

30. I have a reason to celebrate and thank God, for his providence and favor. “Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for mankind, for he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things.” Psalm 107:8-9

31. It Is for this reason that we have gathered here today. To give thanks, for my studies, health, support system…I have lots of reasons to be thankful indeed. “And now we thank you, our God, and praise your glorious name.” 1 Chronicles 29:13.

32. If I was to start naming all the people that have stood with me, I would run out of pages. All in all, thank you.

33. From Light Academy, my high school, to the church and Ray of Hope Kenya, to the University of Nairobi, to Equity Bank and Equity Group Foundation, HELB, to individuals such as Tr Rose Waithira, Carol Waweru and her brother Isaac Njoroge, to Dr Cate, Palmer,  Dr Munge, Mr Liston, Julius and Vivian, Jacob, Mrs Munene and Grace, Lucy, Mama Paul, Eda and MCA Muchene, to my parents, my brothers Josh and Mike,and my sisters Mary and Lucy. I am beyond words. Thank you very much.

34. To my extended family,  aunts and uncles , cousins, you mean a lot, and I am very thankful. To the ROHK mothers and all parents and everyone in general.

35. To my friends, who were always there such as Mrs Njeru, Ms Loyce Kanio, Mama and Baba Tehilla, Mama Ann, Mama Ben, Madam Komu, Mama and Baba Njoki, Lecturer Joan, Mama Dennis, Susan, Mama Timothy, Mama Njambi, thank you indeed.

36. To my lecturers at the University of Nairobi, and my supervisor, Prof Weke and Dr Ogutu, and the entire fraternity at the University of Nairobi, I am here because of you and I am thankful.

37. To my teachers, and those who walked with me from Light Academy especially with recommendations such as , Mr Christopher Sifuna, Madam Sussy, Ms Veronica Waweru, Mr Kucuk and Mr Mustafa, to the director, Mr Sadrettin and Mr Zakaria, Arslan, Mr Mustafa, Mr Ramazan, may God bless you abundantly.

38. To my bros, Steven, Steve, Dave, Daniel, Kevin, Dennis, Michael, Derick , you guys are the best.

39. To my classmates and friends while in college, Tabby, Wambui, Caroline, David, Charles, Kurtis, Benjamin, Viola, Roy, Elizabeth, Timothy, Martin, Collins, Sheila,  Marvin, Leah, Wilson, Abdalla, Emmanuel, Joe, Evans, Milton, Joan, Oscar, Eugene, Akal, Felix, Cecilia, James, Lazarus, Ian, Derrick, Paul, Morembe, Sohail, Qui, Winnie, Roselyn, Alan, Rachael, Sheban, Liberata, Kelly, John, Juma, to name but a few; the list is endless for sure, and my project group members Marvine, Stephen, Chelsea and Agnes, I really enjoyed your company and discussions, and to all my classmates, thank you indeed for making my university life memorable.

40. To the church, Rev Mithali, Rev Wachira, Rev Kiragu, Rev JM, Capt Moses, Peter, Winnie, Samwel, Tr Rose Obonyo, the SPARK family led by Francis and Christine and all from St Joseph’s Kabete, blessings.

41. I cannot fail to mention Rekesh who walked with me while in hospitals in Bhubaneswar, together with Chisola, Omar, Kawangu, Peter, Mowafag, Mahery, Bereket, Fred, Victoria, Adolf, Mitch, Makalimo, and the entire African family at NIT Rourkela, Aritri, Towhid, and those who made my experience worthwhile such as Banuka and my colleagues from Sri Lanka, and all guys from ICCR and everyone at NIT Rourkela in addition to the faculty and all friends who saw the potential in me such Dr Subhajit. We met by chance, and I wish you all the best in all your endeavors.

42. Although my time was cut short, I believe it had a reason, thus my being here today to celebrate this milestone. I want to thank all the doctors and nurses who have always been with me in my low moments and when I was not well, in addition to all of you for being there for me.

43. Dearest brethrens, I cannot mention all of you, but I hope that from the bottom of my heart, anyone reading this ,or hearing this will know that I cherish you, May God be with you.  All of you, to me, are angels sent from heaven above, and I am thankful.

44. I really hope my being here will inspire and ignite your dream. This is a story of hard work, resilience and determination without giving up when faced with adversity.

45. It is all about breaking the glass ceiling and having the trust for making a difference, in spite of my humble beginnings. It is all about having a reason to smile, and be thankful, for I believe I can do all things, through Christ who strengthens me.

46. I give thanks for everything. Understanding that you can’t truly take credit for your successes nor truly blame others for their failures will humble you and make you more compassionate.

47. I pray for God’s favor and directions in our next stage in our journeys.  Thank you.

48. I am here to give thanks to the Lord for He is good, and his mercies endures forever. Thank you for being here and making this day a success.

Graduation, 23 rd September 2022

6 thoughts on “Zacharia Ria Ndungu Graduation thanksgiving testimony speech at ACK St Joseph’s Church Kabete 23rd September 2022.

  1. I remember that day, at The Luke, when we first met. I remember the time we shared at Brookhouse during the boot camp. I remember the day we met at USIU. I remember the day you graciously hosted me at your home.
    I hold these and other memories with lots of gratitude.
    You have been a great friend and brother and I really appreciate you.
    You have worked so hard for this moment. As you receive the power to read and write, I wish you all the best in your future endeavors.
    You have a whole community of people rallying behind you and cheering you on as you unlock your potential.
    Congratulations brother and thank you for being my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment